Weekly Photo Challenge: On Top

My first thought for the theme “On Top” naturally went to a scene of someone standing on top of a mountain, but since hiking wasn’t really an option for this weekend, that was out.  My second thought went to a dessert with whipped cream and a cherry on top.  I love whipped cream, but I forgot to buy the ingredients when I went grocery shopping.  So I went with my third idea.

Almost every culture has included a practice of setting up stones as memorials.  Some are crafted stone monuments, while others are simply rough-hewn pillars or rocks piled on top of one another.

Rock Art

The book of Genesis records an account in which Jacob, son of Issac, dreamed of a ladder reaching up into heaven with angels ascending and descending upon it.  He also dreamed that the LORD communicated a promise to him regarding his descendants and eventual return to the land.  When he awoke the next morning, he set up  the stone upon which he had laid his head to sleep, and poured oil on top of it.

IMG_3432 stone.oil_smw

IMG_3437 Stone.anointed_smw

Then Jacob rose early in the morning, and took the stone that he had put at his head, set it up as a pillar, and poured oil on top of it.”  —Genesis 28:18  NKJV

I couldn’t decide which of the two images I like better, although I think I lean toward the second one.  What do you think?

 

If you would like to see more images or join the challenge yourself, visit The Daily Post’s Weekly Photo Challenge.

 

2 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: On Top

  1. I like the second one better because of the biblical connotations, and the simplicity of the photo, but the first one is so unique, and thought provoking. Both good examples of on top.

Critiques, advice and encouragement welcomed (❉◠‿◠)

