Smugglers’ Notch to Sterling Pond Hike

My daughter and I did a short hike from Smugglers’ Notch to Sterling Pond.  It’s a 2.4 mile hike to the highest trout pond in Vermont.  The first part of the trail is a long series of stone steps.

ImageJust a short distance up is a view of the notch.

ImageSmall cascades can be seen all along the trail, especially after the rainfall we’ve received.

ImageThe pond was so peaceful.  I should have decreased my aperture setting for a greater depth of field.  I had it set at f/2.8, whereas it should have been somewhere between f/8 and f/11.

ImageImageThis wolf was actually a mix of Alaskan malamute and Siberian husky.  She was so sweet!  She came up and nearly kissed me as she tried to find out what I was eating, but her owners said she doesn’t like carrots.

ImageI spotted this beautiful columbine on the way back down the mountain.  It was such a gorgeous day!

Image

8 thoughts on “Smugglers’ Notch to Sterling Pond Hike

    • Thank you, Sue! It was a very lovely day, and I am so grateful for my daughter and the special times we have shared. We plan to do a lot of hiking this summer as she gears up for a big trip.

  1. Gorgeous! I love the Smuggler’s Notch area… This is a wonderful time of year to live in Vermont!
    When I first saw the wolf I wondered how you got that pic, before I read the caption. She is very pretty. I also noticed how you focused on the little rock ‘island’, instead of the huge mountain in the distance, and on the beautiful columbine. You notice the little things… I love that.

    Keep posting the great views,
    g.

    • Thank you, g! Although I do like the shallow depth of field on the little rock ‘island’, I wish I had taken a few shots using a deeper depth of field so that both the foreground and background were more in focus. I need more practice with my landscape photography.

Critiques, advice and encouragement welcomed (❉◠‿◠)

