Hampton Beach in Winter

I took a short excursion to the beach a couple of days ago.

Image

The first day was very cold and windy. The wind created a beautiful spray and rainbows from the waves.

Image

Image

I love finding hearts, especially in nature. They are like little love notes from God.

Image

The break of dawn. I’d spent the night at the Comfort Inn in Portsmouth, NH, which I would recommend. The next morning when I saw a bit of pink in the sky from the hotel parking lot, I was worried I had either missed the sunrise or would miss it. I was so glad I didn’t. I awoke early, drove the 30 minutes from the hotel to the beach, and froze my butt off to greet the sun, but it was well worth it!! There’s just something about seeing the sun break forth above the horizon.

Image

Image

One of my favorite spots to watch the sun rise, the waves crash against the rocks, and the seagulls fly by.

Image

It was too cold to feel the sand between my toes, but I loved the sound of the waves and seagulls, and the smell of the salty air.

Image

I love this rocky area of the beach. I found some beautiful shells, bits of driftwood, and even a young man’s wallet, which by the way, I returned.

Image

While combing the rocky area of the beach, I came upon this partially submerged rock with the exposed part shaped like a heart— another love note from God. ♥

Image

I had a small packet of fruity snacks in my purse that I try to keep on hand for my granddaughter or someone who might need a quick snack, so I gave them to the seagulls and just asked them not to poop on my head.

Image

Image

This was the site of the earlier sunrise photos at low tide. The person in the background was actually walking barefoot in the water! Brrr…

6 thoughts on “Hampton Beach in Winter

Critiques, advice and encouragement welcomed (❉◠‿◠)

